Conversations with a Cube Puppet

by aquagnome22

Outside Sales Rep (OSR):  I just wanted to give you a heads up that I’m emailing your boss and X manager letting them know about all the mistakes I found in the quote you did earlier this week.  Because X manager asked me to do this. . .and obviously you may need some extra training on the system

Me: I can see this will be a productive use of my Friday

OSR: Oh haha

Me: I don’t really find this funny

OSR: Uh. . .

Later, after finding out that the mistakes/errors were not my own AND that she was not asked to email anyone regarding any errors:

OSR:  . . .well I wanted to make sure you didn’t take my earlier phone call personally

Me: I thought about it, and I decided to take it personally for the rest of the day.  I might change my mind on Monday

OSR: What do you mean?

Me: Well you see thanks to your email my time was wasted for most of the morning so I decided that I was actually pretty angry and that I would take it personally for the rest of the day.  I’ll decide this weekend if its worth being mad about for Monday.

OSR: Uh. . .

Bite me.  Now don’t get me wrong. I like my job just fine, its not like I’m deworming children in Africa or finding a cure for cancer but for the most part I find what I do fairly interesting.  However, I’m just a bit disgusted at times with some of the characters I deal with on a weekly basis.  Especially ones who give me a “warning phone call” before attempting to throw me under the bus. 

