Where in the US is Moi?

by aquagnome22

Right now I’m sitting in my hotel room in Washington DC with my feet up just having finished dinner and watching 24 (Gwads Fox what are you trying to do to us? Were your writers all on LSD this season?)

Part of me cannot believe I’m here, on business, on an expense account, and knowing that my company trusted me enough to ship my arse 3000 miles to attend a conference/tradeshow.  Then again,  I couldn’t believe they flew me to LA after a week on the job. I know that in reality, my being here in DC is more a matter of necessity and convienence but I’m still esctatic that I’m here.

After my flight I checked in and did some work from the hotel room.  Then I zonked out for about an hour before stepping out to explore Georgetown.  There’s a certain sense of freedom knowing that you’re on your own and wandering around a new city.  But at the same time I kept thinking about how much Gail would like this place, or how Kerry would love that pub, or how I bet Ben would just love that Indian place or that Thai place.  I still might try that Indian place tomorrow night.

I’m not 100% positive about my schedule for the next few days though I’m hoping that I will have a chance to do this route I picked out for myself.  It should take me from Georgetown through the Vietnam Memorial back to the White House and maybe a few other sites.  I also have some time to kill on Wednesday afternoon before flying home so I might check out the Smithsonian and catch lunch with my uncle.

So while I may only have 48 hours -ish in this city.  Hopefully I’ll get a bit out of it before I find myself back at Dulles attempting to find a Starbucks amongst the Dunkin Donuts (though the donuts looked mighty good earlier today).

