Work Should Come With a Vicodin

by aquagnome22

Work is making me insane.  Don’t get me wrong, I have a great job.  But it’s a great job for someone else, not me. 

I work with a nice sales rep in the San Francisco area.  He and I chat it up about once every couple of months and help each other out with clients.  He is older than me. He is married. He lives in California.  He is also a triathlete which I find pretty dang cool, and our non-work related talk *SIN*  began when he raced in the Coeur d’Alene triathlon and I gave him tips on staying in the area. Today’s conversation centered on the fact that he just finished the Ironman Kona which is pretty damn amazing.  We talked about different Ironman competitions and how I’m running a half marathon at the end of the month.  He sent me a link to the photos from his event that his sister took and training tips.  Big deal eh? 

Coworker:  That’s weird that he sent you photos Me:  Umm why? 

Coworker: He’s married Me: They’re photos from the Ironman, its not a big deal 

Coworker:  Well its like you two are flirting.  If it were nothing he wouldn’t send you photos  Me: If I competed in an Ironman I’d send my photos to EVERYONE Coworker:  Well its still weird 

It would be weird if I purchased plane tickets to see him, sent him my undies FedEx, and lit a candle every night next to his photo.  The fact is we talk, we trade clients, we talk about the weather, and bottom line is if I finished the Ironman Kona I would buy billboard space to show off my accomplishment.  Ugh! I just enjoy talking to him.  He uses the F word, takes crap from no one, and works hard to play hard.  GRR.

  I mean seriously, are you f-u-c-k-i-n-g kidding me?    

She also once accused me of flirting with a local sports reporter.  He had recently hurt his arm and he and I were talking about shoulder surgery in line at Subway.  And he’s married. And he could legally drive and probably purchase liquor before I was even born.  NOT FLIRTING.    Its called having a conversation, making friends, and being social.  I’m an equal opportunist when it comes to making conversation.  I’m especially fond of harassing people in line for drinks at a bar, but its not flirting.   It’s more like “Entertain Alexa Time” 

Anyways, thank God its Friday.  I have another “doctors appointment” * on Monday and I’m still in the running for another position.  We’ll see what happens.  Hopefully, wherever I land next is a place I will stay awhile and pay me a bit more J 

*  interview. . .shh.

PS- Flying home direct this Christmas with the 85 year old grandmother in tow . . .on a prop plane. . .into an airport with a terminal the size of a Tough Shed.  Its costing more to fly 300 miles than when we flew to San Diego.  Boo rural airport!

